Minisode 0.15: Area 51

On this minisode, host Lisa has dug up some research on the infamous Area 51, and she is quizzing hosts LaRena and Aliza on their knowledge! Play along and see if you score higher than our hosts. Let us know how you do on social media!

Sources & Notes

  1. Aguilera, Jasmine. “Area 51 Is the Internet’s Latest Fascination. Here’s Everything to Know About the Mysterious Site.” Time. 17 July 2019. https://time.com/5627694/area-51-history/
  2. Bain, Jennifer. “Are you brave enough to drive Nevada’s Extraterrestrial Highway?” The Star 19 January 2017. https://www.thestar.com/life/travel/2017/01/19/are-you-brave-enough-to-drive-nevadas-extraterrestrial-highway.html
  3. Blitz, Matt. “The Real Story Behind the Myth of Area 51.” Popular Mechanics. 17 July 2019. https://www.popularmechanics.com/military/research/a24152/area-51-history/
  4. Conroy, J. Oliver. “I ‘stormed’ Area 51 and it was even weirder than I imagined.” The Guardian. 24 September 2019. https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2019/sep/24/area-51-raid-event-what-happened-nevada
  5. Editors of Encyclpaedia Britannica. “Area 51.” Encycolpaedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/place/Area-51
  6. Frank, Allegra. “More than 2 million people have RSVP’d to ‘storm Area 51,’ in the name of memes.” Vox. 29 August 2019. https://www.vox.com/culture/2019/7/12/20691720/storm-area-51-facebook-event-meme
  7. Frank, Allegra. “‘Storm Area 51’ weekend had neither raids nor aliens. But it wasn’t a bust.” Vox. 27 September 2019. https://www.vox.com/culture/2019/9/27/20879010/storm-area-51-alienstock-event-photos
  8. History.com Editors. “What Goes on at Area 51?” History.com. 16 January 2013; updated 31 January 2020. https://www.history.com/news/what-goes-on-at-area-51
  9. Krum, Collin. “America’s Secret Arlie Flies Non-Stop to Area 51.” Jalopnik. 13 August 2015. https://jalopnik.com/this-is-the-only-airline-with-non-stop-service-to-area-1721003315
  10. Long, Matt. “Driving the Extraterrestrial Highway in Nevada: What You Need to Know.” Landlopers. 13 September 2016. https://landlopers.com/2016/09/13/extraterrestrial-highway
  11. Pruitt, Sarah. “Area 51’s Most Outrageous Top Secret Spy Plane Projects.” History.com 20 December 2019; updated 4 February 2020. https://www.history.com/news/area-51-top-secret-spy-planes-u2-blackbird
  12. Richelson, Jeffrey T., Editor. “Area 51, Secret Aircraft and Soviet MiGs.” National Security Archive, The George Washington University. https://nsarchive.gwu.edu/briefing-book/intelligence/2013-10-29/area-51-file-secret-aircraft-soviet-migs
  13. Slattery, Chad. “Secrets of the Skunk Works.” Air & Space Magazine. August 2014. https://www.airspacemag.com/military-aviation/secrets-skunk-works-180952122/
  14. Stuster, J. Dana. “Declassified: The CIA’s Secret History of Area 51.” Foreign Policy. 15 August 2013. https://foreignpolicy.com/2013/08/15/declassified-the-cias-secret-history-of-area-51/
  15. Ward, Alex. “The secret history of Area 51, explained by an expert.” Vox. 18 September 2019
    https://www.vox.com/2019/9/18/20864480/area-51-secret-planes-aliens-jacobsen-interview
  16. Ward, Alex and Romano, Aja. “Area 51 and aliens: the myth, the meme, and the strange reality, explained.” Vox. 19 September 2019. https://www.vox.com/2019/9/19/20857221/storm-area-51-aliens-ufos-meme-myth-lore-history-bob-lazar-explained
  17. “Area 51.” Travel Nevada. https://travelnevada.com/discover/43180/area-51
  18. “Area 51 Fast Facts.” CNN.com 26 September 2019. https://www.cnn.com/2019/07/31/us/area-51-fast-facts/index.html
  19. “Area 51 ‘Uncensored’: Was it UFOs or the USSR?” Fresh Air. NPR.org. 17 May 2011. https://www.npr.org/2011/05/17/136356848/area-51-uncensored-was-it-ufos-or-the-ussr
  20. “Extraterrestrial Highway.” Travel Nevada. https://travelnevada.com/road-trip/extraterrestrial-highway
  21. “Inside Area 51: Test Your Knowledge of the Real History.” History.com https://www.history.com/shows/project-blue-book/interactives/area-51-quiz
  22. “Klingon Bird-of-Prey.” Star Trek. https://www.startrek.com/database_article/klingon-bird-of-prey
  23. “What is Area 51 and what goes on there?” BBC News. 19 September 2019.
    https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-49568127